

http://isdeds.com/home.html

10 August 2011

Dear colleagues,

It is my pleasure to announce two prizes, sponsored by ISDE. The first Bernd Aulbach Prize is awarded to A. N. Sharkovsky. This biennial prize is awarded for significant contributions to the areas of difference equations and/or discrete dynamical systems, which meet one or more of the following criteria:

- 1) The development of new areas of research in difference equations and/or discrete dynamical systems.
- 2) The discovery of important new theorems about difference equations and/or discrete dynamical systems.
- 3) Significant applications of difference equations and/or discrete dynamical systems.

Professor Sharkovsky delivered a plenary address at the annual ICDEA conference, held July 24-29 at the Université du Québec à Trois-Rivières, Canada, at which the prize was officially awarded.

Also awarded at ICDEA 2011 was the prize for best paper published in the Journal of Difference Equations and Applications (JDEA). This prize is awarded annually and is also sponsored by the publisher Taylor & Francis. The prize for 2010 is awarded to Bodil Branner and Kealey Dias for their paper "Classification of complex polynomial vector fields in one complex variable" which appeared in Volume 15, Nos. 5-6 (2010), 463-571.

I'd like to thank the members of the selection committees for their hard work in making these selections. The Aulbach Prize committee was chaired by Saber Elaydi and the best paper committee was chaired by Hal Smith.

The society is indebted to the organizers the 17th annual ICDEA conference which was held July 24-29 at the Université du Québec à Trois-Rivières (http://www.icdea2011.org/). The conference was exceptionally well organized, in every detail, and took place without a hitch. Conference participants enjoyed a very warm welcome in Quebec. I don't know that the Society was ever been so well received by not only the sponsoring University and its staff and students, but city and local press as well. The Organizing Committee was led by Adel F. Antippa. The Scientific Committee, chaired by George Sell, arranged for a fine slate of main speakers.

Please mark on your calendar the 18th annual conference (ICDEA 2012) to be held in Barcelona, Spain (organized by Lluis Alseda) and the 19th annual conference (ICDEA 2013) will be held at Sultan Qaboos University in Muscat, Oman (organized by Ziyad Al-Sharawi). Note that due to climate considerations, the ICDEA 2013 in Oman will not be held at the traditional time in July, but during the month of May.

At the end of my first term as ISDE President, I would like to thank the members of the out-going Board of Directors for their service during the last two years. The accomplishments of the Board during its term include the official establishment of ISDE as a non-profit organization in the USA, the consolidation of the Society's bank accounts and sponsoring membership application to online status, the migration of the webpage to a new ISP, the creation of the biennial Bernd Aulbach Prize, the organization of ICDEA 2010 (in Riga, Latvia) and ICDEA 2011 (in Trois-Rivières, Québec, Canada), and the acceptance of proposals for future ICDEA conferences in Barcelona (2012) and Oman (2013). A great deal of credit and thanks are also due to Society Treasurer, Andrea Bruder, our webmaster and newsletter editor, Malgosia Guzowska, and our secretary Brittni Cockran. I'd also like to give special thanks to Peter Kloeden, whose advice as Vice President was always helpful.

In June the ISDE membership elected a new Board of Directors for the years 2011-2013:

- Linda Allen
 - Department of Mathematics and Statistics, Texas Tech University, Lubbock, TX, USA
- Martin Bohner
 - Department of Mathematics, University of Missouri S&T, Rolla, MO, USA
- Jim Cushing

Department of Mathematics, University of Arizona, Tucson, AZ, USA

- Saber Elaydi Department of Mathematics, Trinity University, San Antonio, TX, USA
 István Győri
 - Department of Mathematics & Computing, University of Pnnonia, Veszprém, Hungary
- Gerry Ladas Department of Mathematics, University of Rhode Island, Kingston, RI, USA
- Allan Peterson Department of Mathematics, University of Nebraska, Lincoln, NE, USA
- Robert Sacker

University of Southern California, Los Angeles, CA, USA

• George Sell School of Mathematics, University of Minnesota, Minneapolis, MN, USA

The new Board elected Robert Sacker and me as in-coming Vice President and President.

Finally, I would like to encourage everyone to become a Sponsoring Member of ISDE. You can now do this online at <u>http://isdeds.com/membershipapplication.html</u>. The funds received through Sponsoring Memberships help to support the Society's activities in developing and enhancing research and education in difference equations and discrete dynamical systems. As a Sponsoring Member you will receive a reduced registration fee for the annual ICDEA conference and a one year online subscription to JDEA (<u>http://mc.manuscriptcentral.com/gdea</u>).

Best regards, Jim Cushing ISDE President